Engage the Edit Button

 

EDITWhen I was a kid, I would say anything that popped into my head! Initially, I thought this was a great quality while family members thought “cute” when I was young. I thought it was wonderful to just have the freedom to say whatever was on my mind at any given moment. I felt it was liberating and anyone who didn’t share my view was “oppressed” by what society deemed acceptable. I thought my outspokenness was a truly appreciated breath of fresh air in a time when women especially were “expected” to “watch” what they say. Ah, the naiveté of youth! As life went on, I discovered everything we hold in our hearts should not always be shared. I realized this when I read about Joseph and his many brothers (Gen. 37:1-11). In reading Joseph’s story, I quickly identified with him. He was young, talented and full of righteousness. He was destined for great things as I am. What I didn’t realize right away is that those who have a special purpose to fill in this world are often hated. Joseph was loathed, not because he’d done anything, but simply because he was who he was. Like me, he was outspoken and loved to share his creativity with others. I couldn’t believe he wasn’t celebrated by his family a bit more. He had dreams of ruling kingdoms, being the patriarch of his family and saving them from certain death. Who wouldn’t love a kid like that?

As I kept reading of Joseph’s ordeal, I realized that some things shouldn’t be spoken. There are things that happen between an individual and God that should be kept under wraps until the appointed time. Prophetic people that dream or have words of knowledge about future events, must sometimes engage in covert operations. This concealment is not for deceptive reasons but to protect the plan of God. Joseph had a series of dreams that not only compounded his brothers jealousy but despise him even more than they already had. Every vision, dream or word of knowledge concerning him came to pass but at the time he revealed it to his family; they were not ready to hear it.

Joseph’s adventure inspired me to reflect on my own style of communication. Even though my intent was to be a free thinker while sharing my God given thoughts, many around me were not ready to embrace the revelations that God has placed in my heart. I had to learn to be sensitive to that and aware of the fact that some of God’s plans for me should not always be immediately shared. I had to learn to push my spiritual EDIT button! There are some hateful thoughts and deeds from people I’ve had to contend with because I spoke too quickly. I learned to regularly remind myself that we have an enemy that is looking to steal, kill and destroy every wholesome work of the Lord. God allows everything in time which shouldn’t be rushed. When the fullness of time comes, God’s plan can never be aborted. I merely had to learn to wait to hear God’s heart so that I’ll know when to push the EDIT button.

I know now there is a larger blessing in revealing God’s truth at the right time; the appointed time that the Lord sets. I didn’t have to “share” everything and whether I did it for attention or any other reason I don’t believe God was pleased. I believe He is pleased when we trust His timing; giving opportunity to the Holy Spirit to direct every occasion in our lives. Even when we know it all (or believe in that moment that we do) we don’t always need to utter a word. Sometimes the best thing we can do is sit back, let God be God and push the EDIT button.

Be encouraged and blessed child of the most high God!

Author: TheBrokenVessel!

Denise J. Williams was born in Brooklyn, New York & holds a doctorate in biblical studies. More of her work can be found on her blog http://www.thebrokenvessel.wordpress.com​ Her first book, The Healing Of A Broken Vessel was released in 2009. Her second offering, Chambers of the Believing Heart was released in June 2012. Her objective is to inspire the modern day believer to seek an authentic, passionate relationship with the Lord.​ Both books can be found on Amazon. ​ Denise has over twenty years of ministry experience. Her past outreach efforts included ministering to nursing home residents and tutoring young women in reading. She currently hosts Healing workshops in the Jacksonville area to empower women to be Kingdom builders in the body of Christ. In addition, she is a photojournalist who contributes weekly to The Florida Star newspaper, a voice over artist and on occasion hosts the radio show IMPACT sponsored by The Florida Star newspaper on WCGL 94.7 FM a gospel station in the greater Jacksonville, FL area. Denise is fully persuaded that believers can be viable catalysts to expose the world to God’s unconditional love, healing power and authority for such a time as this!

Leave a Reply

